close
top 5 cheapest web hosting company

What are the top 5 cheapest hosting companies to host your website with? That’s a good question but its also important to not only look at price but also things like Uptime, Speed, Customer service and other people’s review before going for an hosting company because when you are sucked in, it will be a lot of headaches trying to move from one host to another (trust me, I have faced this and still face it).

The top 5 cheapest hosting companies listed here have all been tried and tested by me personally and I still have websites hosted in about all of them. This is not just like any other “web hosting review” , I am a paying customer to all of them and more but only the 5 picked made this list.

I have had mixed feelings and reactions with some of them and I intend to not make this post all about too much technical details and information  (even though I will and have to touch on some of the technical parts) , I will try to keep this post as un-biased and not too harsh as possible because I can somewhat be harsh when it comes to reviews and comparisons.

So, in no order of price or choice; here are the Top 5 Cheapest Web Hosting Companies

 


BlueHost

One of the most common names in Web Hosting is Bluehost. You have most likely seen their Blue Ads around the web with that girl smiling like she’s about to give out her number to a stranger. Bluehost has been in existence since 2003 and according to them – power over 2 Million websites on the internet. They have a fair price and just like every other host, they provide Shared Hosting, VPS and Dedicated hosting. WordPress actually recommends Bluehost as one of the best hosting companies to host WordPress websites with and they have stood behind WordPress websites for 10 years now.

One thing I don’t like about most Host companies is the way they list the price in the front-end. It looks fairly cheap but when you start trying to make a purchase or pay for it, you then see that the listed price isn’t really “The Listed Price”. For example, in the front-end – you would see that the Shared Hosting (which is the cheapest hosting) starts at $3.95/month but that is if you want to pay for 36 months upfront.

PRICE.

Bluehost is cheap! They offer 3 packages for their Shared hosting plan (which is what is recommended for Normal websites).

  • Basic plan: For $3.95 per month, you get to host one website , 50GB storage and ‘unlimited’ bandwidth. You also get 5 email accounts (with a max storage of 100MB each).
  • Plus plan: $5.95 per month provides “‘unlimited websites’ , ‘unmetered’ storage, and ‘unlimited’ bandwidth, ‘unlimited emails’ and other ‘unlimited’ as you can see in the picture below
  • Prime plan: Their largest plan comes normally at $5.95 per month, providing ‘unlimited’ websites, storage, bandwidth, email account and email storage. (Currently On Sale)

Their Prices  are reasonable but remember, these are just prices that you’ll pay if you are paying for 36months straight. They don’t offer month-month payments and also when you decided to do 12 months, the prices jumps up a little bit! This is not really a good look, most people don’t like being sucked into long and lengthy contracts.

 

SERVICE & UPTIME

Having your website always online and working is very important. When your website goes dead or offline due to your host’s server issue, this might cost you some money and customers. Bluehost excels in optimum up-time and excellent service. Bluehost also ranks #3 in speed.

According to HostingFacts who did an 8 month test on their Uptime. Below are the results:

  • September 2017 average uptime: 99.98%
  • October 2017 average uptime: 99.86%
  • November 2017 average uptime: 100%
  • December 2017 average uptime: 100%
  • January 2018 average uptime: 99.99%
  • February 2018 average uptime: 100%
  • March 2018 average uptime: 100%
  • April 2018 average uptime: 100%

CUSTOMER SERVICE

Being able to get hold of the customer service is a major key. Whilst some people have claimed they they’ve gotten fast and quick replies, some claim they have not been able to get a hold of them. I personally haven’t had a reason to need them but I think they should be okay – am a type of person who opens a support Ticket and also launches the live chat.

Bluehost Pros

  • Free domain for a year! This saves you some money on the domain side of things.
  • Easy to signup and get your website rolling in minutes.
  • Great security for your website, they make use of 3 security layers; Spam Experts, Spam Hammer, and Apache Spam Assassin
  • Offers one-click installations which allows you to install CMS such as WordPress, Joomla and the likes easily.
  • Their enhance Cpanel is really easy to use and gives you a lot of features to work with.

Bluehost Cons

  • Cannot pay on a month by month basis.
  • They try to upsell you instantly instead of getting you in first and then trying to upsell you later.
  • Their WordPress plan is quite pricey. I would recommend just making use of their normal shared hosting and installing WordPress on it

COP or DROP?

Ermmmm, this is a hard one for me. I think I’ll DROP and the reason is because I like being able to make payments on a monthly basis which is something Bluehost doesn’t offer. Sometimes I might be on a tight budget and do not want to pay for 36 or 12 months straight.

Thinking about it from another point of view though, I think I might COP because paying upfront might be a good thing – it allows you know your website and things are setup for a year straight without needing your attention and obviously – you get a huge discount by paying for a year straight compared to paying on a monthly basis.

We have been able to negotiate an amazing deal and By clicking this link, you can get about 65% off of Bluehost’s retail price and host your website for only $2.75 a month instead of the $3.95 or $5.95 per month.

Get Bluehost Discounted

Tsohost.

Tsohost might not be a very known name but they are actually a very good hosting company. I have multiple websites with them and also manage 2 clients separate website on their server. They are UK based. They are a transparent hosting company that doesn’t do the hidden fee thing most hosting companies do and they never try to over-sell or upsell you addons or services you don’t really need to maintain and run a website.

PRICE.

I remember that call I had from my client back in 2017, he said “Daniel, we need to move our websites away to a company I just found called Tsohost, they are very cheap and because they are based int he UK – it will much easier to reach them”. Their prices are very good for the service they offer. Their web hosting plan starts at £1.34/ month BUT you would need to signup for 24 months in order to get it at that rate. Be careful though, they have something called the “Cloud Web Hosting” which is their own well designed control panel or backend for your website, I like it – its clean and easy to use, while they have the normal “Cpanel Hosting” which is the industry standard and what everyone is used to and makes use of, both are same prices anyways.

  • Personal: This plan starts at only £1.34 per month. You can only host 1 website. It comes with 500MB of space storage, along with UNLIMITED bandwidth, 5 x 200MB Mailboxes + 1 Free ‘Basic’ Migration. Free Let’s Encrypt SSL support.
  • Startup: This plan runs £2.92 per month. You can host 3 websites. It comes with 15 GB of space storage, with UNLIMITED bandwidth and 100 x 200MB Mailboxes, Let’s Encrypt SSL Support + Free Domain Name.
  • Business: This plan is £6.59 each month. You can host 8 websites. 50GB storage, UNLIMITED bandwidth, 100 x 1GB Mailboxes, Let’s Encrypt SSL Support, Free Standard SSL + Free Domain Name
  • eCommerce: This plan is £18.02 per month. You can host 20 Websites. delivering a whopping 100GB of storage, UNLIMITED bandwidth, Unlimited x 10GB Mailboxes, Let’s Encrypt SSL Support, Free Standard SSL, 2 eCommerce Migrations + Free Domain Name.

Some of thier prices above are subject to registering for a 12 month or 24 months straight plan BUT their month by month are still very very affordable.

SERVICE & UPTIME

Speed plays a key role in evaluating a new host, Tsohost has an edge in this as I never had issues or downtimes with my websites for the past 2years I have been with them and I think I staill have close to 8 websites hosted with them and manage 2 other client’s separate website.

Last 9 months of monitoring: uptime according to HostingFacts  tets

  1. February average uptime: 99.96%
  2. March average uptime: 100%
  3. April average uptime: 100%
  4. May average uptime: 99.97%
  5. June average uptime: 99.99%
  6. July average uptime: 100%
  7. August average uptime: 99.97%
  8. September average uptime: 100%
  9. October average uptime: 99.89%

CUSTOMER SERVICE

Their customer service is A1, quite fast and knowledgeable but their phone support isn’t all greasy especially if you are based in the US. Their suppor tickets gets answered a little bit late but they best way to get on their neck is through the live chat system they have.

Tsohost Pros

  • Offers one-click installation
  • Daily FREE backupgs of your website files and database. (Oh! This is one thing that makes me still have some of my websites with them. Backup is handsoff)

Tsohost Cons

  • Their cheapest plan doesn’t come with a free domain
  • Limited phone support. I think they prefer to talk over emails or livechats which isn’t too good.
  • UK issues. Since the company is a UK company, you need to bear in mind the currency different / conversion and also their opening times might be different if you leave in the US of example.

COP or DROP?

I would COP this! They have affordable prices, good customer service, no-hidden fees, daily backups of your entire website and they amazing uptime!

If  you would like to get an extra 10% off their hosting plans, use this code ‘HUSTLE’ at checkout and you will get 10% off!

Get Tsohost Discounted

Godaddy.

Godaddy is actually now synonymous with searching for the availability of domain names. I cannot count how many times have said “I will check Godaddy to see if the domain name is still available”. Godaddy needs no introduction, they have a very aggressive marketing approach – there is big chance anyone reading this review on the cheapest web hosting have heard about Godaddy and actually think they are cheap and affordable.

They are one of the biggest domain register in the world and offer amazing hosting services, I have about 2 websites hosted with them and close to 14 domains in my account.

PRICE

At fist glance, they seem like a cheap option to go for. Their staring price is $2.99 /month. But just like most hosting companies, you get to see the real price when you are about to make payment. Dont get me wrong though, they are still an affordable option to pick from but I don’t like how most of these hosting comapnies play this game of advertising a low price in the front end but then showing you something else when you are about to make payment.

  • Economy: One basic website for $2.97/month for the first year.
  • Deluxe: A souped-up plan allowing for unlimited websites that will run you $4.49/month during the first year.
  • Ultimate: More power, more databases, and one year of an SSL certificate for $6.99/month in year one.

Be aware that the prices listed below and above are the “front-end” prices and to get the service at those prices, you will have to purchase about 12 – 36 months ahead. I do like that they offer a minimum of 3 months contract but I lowkey prefer services where I can be pay on a monthly basis.

SERVICE & UPTIME

Godaddy has Great Speed and a good service! They’ve been in the game for 20years now and made over 2Billion last year in revenue, so they know what they are doing, they have the money and man-power to ensure all websites hosted with them operates and runs well.

According to HostingFacts

2017 avg. uptime:

  • November uptime: 100%
  • December uptime: 99.97%

2018 avg. uptime:

  • January uptime: 99.98%
  • February uptime: 99.96%
  • March uptime: 99.91%
  • April uptime: 99.99%

CUSTOMER SERVICE

Godaddy Pros

  • Fast account activation.
  • Great Speed & Uptime
  • Cpanel and control panel area is user-friendly
  • Offers one-click installation

Godaddy Cons

  • Free domain for the first year BUT if you are paying for more than a year!
  • No Free SSL like MOST hosts now offer on their cheapest plans.
  • They have a lot of Upsells and Hidden Terms & Conditions.

COP or DROP?

They are a good host and I’ll COP them because I still have websites with them, their support is extremely helpful and knowledgeable (on the phone and live chat).

Exclusive for our readers, you can get Godaddy hosting as low as $1 /month by following this link

Get Godaddy Discounted

A2 Hosting

A2 Hosting isn’t a popular hosting company, they are somewhat Lowkey but they are Faster than SiteGround, Bluehost or HostGator! Yes, and their data proves this! The boast of a 20x faster server and ‘exclusive turbo server’ option which makes them one of the fastest shared hosting companies on the web.

PRICE

Their prices are good and on par with the other hosting companies reviewed in this article but might be a little, just a little bit pricey. For example, the cheapest plan starts from £2.93 / month on the front end but says something different when you are about to checkout. I purchased their SWIFT hosting plan in May just to try them out since am always on the look out for better hosting companies at competitive prices.

  • Lite plan: This plan starts from £2.93 per month. It supports 1 domain name, 5 subdomains, 5 databases, ‘unlimited’ storage and Transfer + Free SSL
  • Swift plan: This plan starts from £3.66 per month. It supports unlimited websites, database, storage, transfer and FREE SSL
  • Turbo plan: This plan starts from £6.96 per month. It supports unlimited websites, databases, storage and email accounts + FREE SSL and ‘Turbo website speed Accelerator’.

SERVICE & UPTIME

A2 Hosting boasts speeds of up to 20X faster. They’ve got Stable and Reliable Uptime of 99.90%, Fastest Shared Hosting provider, Fast & efficient customer support and lots more! I would rate them well due to their personal experience with their company – it’s been good so far.

Their load times according to HostingFacts,

2017:

  • September average uptime: 99.93%
  • October average uptime: 99.97%
  • November average uptime: 99.90%
  • December average uptime: 99.89%

2018:

  • January average uptime: 99.98%
  • February average uptime: 99.99%
  • March average uptime: 99.98%
  • April average uptime: 99.60%

CUSTOMER SERVICE

They have one of the best customer service I have experienced so far. They live chat, ticket and emails gets replied asap by their “gurus”. I haven’t ever called their phone line because there hasn’t been a reason too. Amazing support overall.

A2 follows their string of impressive performance with friendly, helpful, US-based support. They’re available 24/7/365 through email, chat, phone or ticket submission

A2 Hosting Pros

  • Free domain
  • Free Let’s Encrypt SSL certificate.
  • One click installation and optimized WordPress installation (I found their WordPress installation powerful)
  • Free website migration
  • Lightning fast customer support
  • HackScan secures your site for free
  • Access to free Cloudflare Content Delivery Network (CDN)

A2 Hosting Cons

  • Their cheapest plan only hosting of 1 website.
  • A little precier their others (but their service justifies this)

COP OR DROP?

A2 Hosting is a good hosting company and I just discovered them not long ago. I gave them a try and moved some of my websites to them, its been good ever since- the speed and servic eis very good. They’ve also got s good price, so, I’ll COP for sure!

Get A2 Hosting Discounted

Hostgator

Hostgator was one of the first “international hosting” companies I made use of back when I was living in Nigeria. They are known for their cheap introductory price of $2.64/month. They are one of the largest domain registrars in the world with over 9million registered domains. You’ve probably seen their aligator logo somewhere on the web or their  hilarious gator video ads on YouTube.

PRICE

Their prices are bit tricky but you can actually get a hosting package from them for as low as $0.o1 for your first month but then the plan renews at $10.95/month onward. This is a little pricier than other hosting companies with better service. They make use of the normal hosting company tricks which is to lure you in with a “Promotional Price” but then when you are about tot renew, your renewal price jumps up – most likely twice or three times what you paid in the beginning. I still think their prices are great though if you read the fine prints of what you get in their shared hosting below.

  • Hatchling plan: This plan starts at $2.64 per month. It supports 1 domain name, unlimited disk space and storage and unlimited subdomains.
  • Baby plan: This plan starts at $3.78 per month. It supports unlimited storage, bandwidth and domain names.
  • Business plan: This plan starts at $5.68 per month. It supports unlimited storage, bandwidth and domain names. It comes with a free dedicated IP, SSL and toll-free number.
  • You get $100 Google adwords credit  and also $100 Bing Credit on any of their hosting plans you purchase.

 

hostgator pricing

SERVICE & UPTIME

Their uptime and service has improved with time, it used to be horrible. I remember back then in 2014 when I had an account with them, things used to be really horrible but now they’ve made changes and upgrade to their  service and uptime.

Below are their Utpime values according to HostingFacts,

2017:

  • September average uptime: 100%
  • October average uptime: 99.98%
  • November average uptime: 99.99%
  • December average uptime: 99.94%

2018:

  • January average uptime: 99.98%
  • February average uptime: 100%
  • March average uptime: 99.95%
  • April average uptime: 99.96%

CUSTOMER SERVICE

I haven’t been in touch with their customer service in a long time but I believe they shouldn’t be bad since they boast of 24/7/365 Support Live, email and phone support.

Hostator pros

  • They have a very good uptime (99.98%)
  • Extremely user-friendly backend for beginners
  • Good customer support
  • Great introductory price of $0.01 for first month.

Hostagor cons

  • Load speeds only averaged 991 ms (there are smaller companies with faster load speeds)
  • Usual pricing gimmicks
  • Some people have claimed that their customer support doesn’t have real Tech backgrounds, they just send you links to articles.

COP OR DROP?

I personally do not have a website with them anymore, so I will not be able to recommend whether to COP or DROP, but they do have a good reputation and also have a very interesting introductory offer of about 1 cent for the first month…anyone can try them and see if they had a good first month and then make a decision for themselves.

Sign Up for Hostgator.


I hope you’ve been enjoyed this post as much as I have enjoyed writing it. So, which one would I recommend as the #1? This is a hard question but I’ll go with Bluehost any day, anytime.

I have been able to negotiate an amazing deal and By clicking this link, you can get about 65% off of Bluehost’s retail price and host your website for only $2.75 a month instead of the $3.95 or $5.95 per month

 

Tags : best web hostingbest website hostingcheap hostingcheap web hostinglow cost web hostingweb hosting reviewswebsite server hosting
Daniel Damilola Nejo

The author Daniel Damilola Nejo

Daniel Damilola Nejo is a Nigerian born, London based Creative Designer and Content Creator with love for the hustle and community. He has a Masters in Business Information Systems Management and is Endorsed by the UK Government as a "World Leading Exceptional Talent in Digital Technology" . He is a true hustler and a forward thinking individual who uses his knowledge and skill to add value to lives around the world. He works with startups, businesses and individuals around the world as a digital designer and brand developer. Founder of some Digital startups and brands.
>

Your eBook will be sent in seconds!

Free eBook!

The Ultimate Guideline To Starting An

Online Business in 2018.